domenica 22 giugno 2014

Souvenir's Young America (2007) An Ocean Without Water

Richmond, VA's cinematic instrumentalists SOUVENIR'S YOUNG AMERICA present their second full length, "An Ocean Without Water," which will be released through Crucial Blast on both CD (on July 24th) and LP (shortly thereafter). The album was recorded with John Morand (Labradford, Sparklehorse, 4 Walls Falling) at Sound of Music. "An Ocean Without Water" comes in a 6-panel digipack designed by Sasha Barr.
Lush, shimmering guitar ambience and hypnotic, propulsive instrumental heaviness wind through the dusty highways and burnt twilight skies of "An Ocean Without Water," the sophomore album from Richmond's Souvenir's Young America. Divided into six flowing movements, "An Ocean Without Water" is filled with intensely beautiful melodies that drift on lonesome harmonica strains and sparkling, celestial electronics, shot through with mystic, western slide guitar, passages of crushing angular riffage, rolling tribal drumming, and transcendent blues. Through their intricate song arrangements and moody textures, Souvenir's Young America has created an epic, emotional narrative. The sound draws from the collected DNA of forebears like Popul Vuh, Earth, Labradford, and Neurosis, yet they form a powerfully evocative instrumental language all of their own. Features collaborations with Aughra (Magic Bullet Records) and Nick Forte (Sublight Records, ex Rorschach / Beautiful Skin).
The band has developed their sound even further with this new album, and we couldn't be more stoked over the epic, moody sounds that onfold over "An Ocean Without Water's" 40 minute running time.

Artist: Souvenir's Young America
Title: An Ocean Without Water
Label: Crucial Blast - CBR 61
Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 2007
Genre: Rock
Style: Post Rock

1 Mars Ascendent [6:12]
2 Blood Alone Does Not A Father Make [8:10]
3 Dark Was The Night, Cold Was The Ground [5:31]
4 The Sheltering Sky [7:33]
5 Invocation In The Caldera [6:25]
6 Coragyps Atratus (Ego Te Absolvo) [6:18]

Graham Scala - Percussion, Guitar, Electronics
Jonathan Lee - Keyboards, Electronics
Ken Rayher - Guitar

Artwork by Sasha Barr
Mastered at Visceral Sound by Scott Hull
Recorded and Mixed at Sound Of Music by John Morand
Noah Saval - Harmonica (songs 1, 2, 5)
Chris Carroll - Cello (songs 2, 4)
Brent Eyestone - Electronics (songs 3, 4)
Carrington Martin - Tambourine (song 5)
Nick Forte - Electronics, Remix (song 6)

Song 3 is based on a song of the same name by Blind Willie Johnson.

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento