lunedì 2 febbraio 2015

Eagle Twin (2009) The Unkindness of Crows

Artist: Eagle Twin
Title: The Unkindness of Crows
Label: Southern Lord - LORD106
Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 2009
Genre: Rock
Style: Doom Metal, Heavy Metal

1 In The Beginning Was The Scream
2 Murder Of...
3 10,000 Birds Of Black Hot Fire
4 Storytelling Of Ravens
5 Crow Hymn
6 Carry On, King Of Carrion
7 And It Came To Pass That Birds Fell To Earth As Black Snakes

Eagle Twin is a two-man doom metal / sludge outfit from Salt Lake City, Utah, United States formed in 2007 featuring Gentry Densley (Ascend, Iceburn) on baritone guitar / vocals and Tyler Smith (Form of Rocket) on drums.

Behold the debut album from Eagle Twin. Although Eagle Twin is a very new entity its helmsman: Gentry Densley is no stranger to innovative, heavy music. Densley was the musical visionary and leader of the legendary jazz, prog, rock, metal, hardcore group Iceburn (aka The Iceburn Collective) from 1991-2001.

Iceburn has been called the greatest and most important musical offering from Salt Lake City since the Osmonds! Gentrys’ playing has been very influential to a lot of successful modern music groups such as: Isis, Pelican, Sunn O))) etc...

In order to disseminate his majestic and mountainous riffs in the present day he enlisted massively behemoth skinsman Tyler Smith. The drums are not only a driving force that efficiently steam rolls over you they conjure a repetitious mantra that is eerily infectious.

Although Iceburn was primarily a instrumental force, with Eagle Twin Gentry is much more vocal and the depth of his lyrics is endless. His vocal evocations bring to mind the hoarse rasp of Tom Waits and Howlin Wolf but possibly channeled through Tuvan throat singers. His voice, is used much like an instrument and often times creates a unique drone of its own. The riffs and music definitely have familiar reference points (Caspar Brotzmann Massaker, Earth, Sunn O))), Melvins etc...) but are crafted in a way that stands miles beyond the others.

Eagle Twin (2009) The Unkindness of Crows