giovedì 11 giugno 2015

Mick Turner (2013) Don't Tell The Driver

Mick Turner is an Australian musician and artist, best known as the guitarist for Dirty Three and for his paintings. He was born in Black Rock, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

Prior to his work with Dirty Three, Turner was a member of several Melbourne-based rock bands: Sick Things (1979–1988), The Moodists (1983–1984), Fungus Brains (1982–1987), and Venom P. Stinger (1985–1996 with Jim White).

In addition to playing with Jim White and Warren Ellis, Mick also runs the Dirty Three's record label, Anchor & Hope Records and has painted the cover illustration for all of their major albums except their first. He has had art exhibitions around Australia and internationally.

Fellow Dirty Three member, Jim White, plays with Mick: The Tren Brothers, and together they have played with Cat Power, Boxhead Ensemble and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy.

Turner has also released three solo albums under his own name, two albums with Jessica Billey under the moniker Bonnevill, as well as a single credited to "Tren Brothers & Sister" featuring Turner, White & Billey.

Turner currently performs his solo work, accompanied by one of several Melbourne drummers: Ian Wadley (member of Bird Blobs), or Marty Brown (drummer with Art of Fighting). In November 2013, Turner played the final holiday camp edition of the world famous All Tomorrow's Parties festival in Camber Sands, England.

His 2013 solo album Don't tell the Driver features guest performances from Caroline Kennedy-McCracken and Oliver Mann among others.

Artist: Mick Turner
Title: Don't Tell The Driver
Label: Drag CityDC569CD
Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 19 Nov 2013
Genre: Post Rock, Folk
Style: Post Rock, Folk

01 All Gone [3:57]
02 Sometimes [3:45]
03 Long Way Home [4:14]
04 Don't Tell The Driver [8:57]
05 Gone Dreaming [4:45]
06 Here's a Way [3:47]
07 The Navigator [4:41]
08 Over Waves [8:50]
09 The Bird Catcher [5:01]
10 We're Not Going Home [4:05]
11 The Last Song [6:06]

Bass Guitar – Peggy Frew (tracks: 3, 5, 7, 11)
Drums – Ian Wadley (tracks: 6, 11), Jeffrey Wegener (tracks: 3, 5), Kishore Ryan (tracks: 4 Pt. 1)
French Horn – Libby Chow
Instruments [Everything Else] – Mick Turner
Music By, Lyrics By – Mick Turner
Trumpet – Dave Henry
Vocals – Caroline Kennedy-McCracken (tracks: 2, 4, 6, 8, 10), Oliver Mann (tracks: 8)
Recorded By, Mixed By – Mick Turner, Nick Huggins
Mastered By – Jack The Bear

Mick Turner In Groups:
Bonnevill, Boxhead Ensemble, Dirty Three, Fungus Brains, The Moodists, Sick Things, Tren Brothers, Venom P. Stinger.

Mick Turner (2013) Don't Tell The Driver

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento