mercoledì 17 giugno 2015

Sarah Manning (2014) Harmonious Creature

Saxophonist Sarah Manning keeps exploring new paths with the release of her latest "Harmonious Creature." This engaging musical program features Manning's brilliant original compositions presented by an amazing group of players, including the celebrated violist Eyvind Kang, bassist Rene Hart, guitarist Jonathan Goldberger, and the ever bombastic Jerome Jennings on drums. Critical listeners will agree that Manning's compositions and performances both clearly demonstrate both her command of the saxophone and her functional mastery of the jazz idiom. Featuring a delicate balance of modernity and nontraditional aesthetics, the music of Sarah Manning's "Harmonious Creature" remains insightfully straight ahead, steadily swinging, refreshingly melodic, and is certain to evoke a wide assortment of bright moments in the ears of discerning jazz fans everywhere.

Artist: Sarah Manning
Title: Harmonious Creature
Label: Posi-Tone RecordsPR8117
Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 2014
Genre: Jazz
Style: Jazz, Modern Jazz

01 Copland on Cornelia Street
02 Tune of Cats
03 Floating Bridge
04 I Dream a Highway
05 Grey Dawn, Red Fox
06 Radish Spirit
07 Three Chords for Jessica
08 Don't Answer to the Question
09 On the Beach
10 What the Blues Left Behind

Sarah Manning : Alto Saxophone
Eyvind Kang : Viola
Jonathan Goldberger : Guitar
Rene Hart : Bass
Jerome Jennings : Drums

All songs composed by Sarah Manning except "I Dream a Highway" by Gillian Welch and David Rawlings and "On the Beach" by Neil Young.

Sarah Manning (2014) Harmonious Creature

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento